Cultural Anthropology

I spent the last week reading about my family, friends and life- but it was called Cultural Anthropology!  Ok, for some of you that’s a “DUH, Kris, where you been” kind of question, but realize my academic focus for the last FOUR years(Yeah, some of us are doing the 5-year plan) has been on Parks and Recreation with an emphasis on the RECREATION part of my major.  I find out…there’s a science around studying humans – as in me!  Although I read in the New York Times that not everyone believes Anthropology is a science these days (Wade, N.  2010 Anthropology a Science? Statement Deepens a Rift.  New York Times, Dec. 9, Online).  FOCUS Kris…

Culture is what makes us different than any other species –  Our culture learns, shares and adapts and has “symbols” (stands for something) that are learned, random and dictate our view  of our world. We don’t always agree on symbols and sometimes the meaning needs to be negotiated – obviously the author of the book I read has lived with a sister like mine!

 Language is the other thing that makes us so special!  We learn language even when we don’t know the meaning of things – we figure it out – again whoa- a whole Venus/Mars kind of conversation should be added here.  Again it’s amazing how we as men learn to maneuver so well in a world of female words – negotiate, negotiate, reinforce, negotiate.  And then there are the non-verbals that we wont even talk about!

Jump forward to Kinship and Family…I am my history – my parents, my grandparents and great-grandparents.  Danish tradition has been passed down and diluted – and I am choosing what I want to take with me and pass on someday to my children.  You can bet that ebelsikvers and Aunt Margie’s Red Velvet Cake will make it and lutefisk will NOT!  I also read, that our family is a bit of an anomaly in Western culture.  I’ve grown up living on a compound – living among siblings, parents, grandparents and aunts and uncles – an extended family living within close proximity.  AND the scarey thing – we all get along!  We share  and understand the same metaphors and view the world the same way.  We are all Democrats, teachers or engineers and have a common identity.   And …we like each other…yeah, well there IS my sister; she’s ok, but just don’t tell her I said that.

Seven days reading about my family, my friends, who I work with and it’s called Cultural Anthropology.  Do me a favor though…don’t tell me sister about this…she’s majoring in anthropology and I would HATE to hear one more “I told you so!”

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cultural Anthropology

  1. Anya Silva says:

    Hey Kris!
    This is Anya from your anthropology class. 🙂 Just wanted to say I really enjoyed reading your post. It was personalized and I felt very connected to it (You’re entertaining haha. Made learning from you all the more enjoyable!) and definitely agreed with it. I am a Catholic and pretty much grew up that way so it also became this “habit” you were talking about when it came to going to church and doing prayers. Never questioned it because like you said- it’s just what we did. I think it is funny how sometimes we don’t know any differently because we have never been exposed to any other type of culture as deep as just someone telling you they are “Muslim” or “Hindu” or whatever it may be. It’s just fascinating how different we are from other people- friends for that matter but somehow we all have the same goals when it comes to our cultures and religion. That overlapped space between everything. It’s so strange and fascinating all at the same time! I guess that is just what makes everyone unique. Anyways, I enjoyed your post very much! I got to learn about Cultural Anthropology and bits and pieces about you. Thank you :). Have a good one!

  2. I related to the experiences you wrote about in Religious Vs. Spiritual. I felt like i was being re-born when I stepped out into the adult world of academics and began to learn about beliefs and religions all over the world. I think it sends some people into a spiritual crises to question such things, but for me it was a freeing, positive experience. Your sacred place looks like somewhere from a post card or a picture on someone’s wall, like it’s too lovely to actually be real. It reminds me of my home, Alaska.

    • krischris says:

      It’s is actually in way up north in British Columbia – almost to Alaska! We used to live in Lund BC which is the very end of highway 101. I really like AK – have been there on vacation a few times. Once on a boat for an entire suer and once on a cruise ship that was not as great but I still saw a lot. Kris

Leave a Reply

